Thursday, September 29, 2005

Janet my diva

Confession time.
I love Janet Jackson. I know, I know, boob incident this year is shocking. I mean shockingly gorgeous boob. Huh! just kidding, I really meant it was shocking. I remember screaming and pointing to my TV like a thirteen year old boy. "Haaaaaa...!!!!!"
Thank God I don't have a 7 year-old kid with me. I would've been the one in therapy sessions trying to discuss with the experts how to explain that to the kid.
Anyway, what I meant was Janet 12 years ago. The janet when I was in high school. Singing "that's the way love goes". BTW, I just realize that her album cover that time was also involving her being naked while some guy was coping her boobies. (What is wrrronggg with her???!) But I love her anyway. Just like some giggly girl defending Britney and her love choices.
A few days ago, I was browsing for some CDs and I found her old album: Janet, released in 1993.
Besides feeling completely old and moldy, I felt intrigued to check it out & listen to some of the clips.
Felt like in one of those quantum leap episodes, I was zapped back to my high school uniform and at Aries' yard with some pom-pom (since I was trapped into some bizzare/surreal cheerleading competition, enough said). Also zapped back to the crazy headmistress nun regime. Ah the good old days.
Very old-school. Me with my eyebrows unplugged.
So, I bought the CD. It's not a Jobim, but it's still a great one. She was my diva.
What a sentimental fool, my boyfriend will mock me I know. But that's okay, I always find some counterkick to mock him back. Hah!
So, let me have my CD already.
I'll be waiting by the mailroom door.

Tuesday, September 27, 2005

The Age Issue

Went with my work buddies for some team luncheon yesterday. I have to say, I applaud where our team is going, the number of female is growing. First it's just the two of us, now it's four. A hundred percent increased in just two months. Not bad.
Viva la estrogen!
As we shamelessly gulped down some juicy avocado rolls (who said that women only ate a little? Huh, what a myth).
The girls played 'guess my age' & let the men talk about work, hurricane, IT world, politics and world peace for a couple of hours.
Anyway, apparently I look about 4-5 years younger than I really am.
Awwww.... how sweet.
Well, actually, this is not the first time I got that kind of comment. When I graduated from my bachelor degree, I spent my no-job-nothing-to-do days going to the beauty salon to do good for nothing stuff. And the manicurist asked me why wasn't I'm at school.
I told her, I just graduated.
"Oh, from high school?"
"No, I just finished my bachelor study"
"Realllyyy??? you look so young"
Anyway, my birthday is coming in a few months. And I'm having cold feet. I know I'm whiny, but, this is the only place I CAN be whiny, simply because I claim ownerhip of this blog, and I can't whine at work, since I'm the youngest one.
So, quoting Joe on Friends on the episode where Rachel hit 30 and Joe was reminded about how old he was: "Whhyyyyy Gooodddd, whhhyyyyy????"

Sunday, September 25, 2005

Array of Thoughts

  • Today is dark, cloudy, rainy, grey and chilly. I love it! People think I'm weird coz I don't like summer and super bright hot days. I think people are weird for wanting to fry their bodies laying almost completely bare under the sun.
  • Finally, I can feel fall is coming and the leaves start turning to yellow. People wear clothes again, the era of bare midriff, and guys without shirts has passed.
  • I just got my 7-mega-pixel camera a few days ago. Actually, it's our camera (me and my boyfriend), but I got to keep it. Hah! Like two bored people who got nothing better to do, we tried the features there is in it. Including the 'sport' mode which will capture fast movement object. So I jumped up and down and ran back and forth in my apartment to prove it & forever those pictures will never ever be published. (You hear me hunny?!).
  • Tomorrow is Monday. Huaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa....

Tuesday, September 20, 2005

I'm grumpy when sleepy

Been having lack of sleep there past couple of days.
Day one was because mom called in the early morning hour just to chat.
For a morning person like her, 7:30 is way late.
I wake up at 8:30 the earliest (long live my working schedule!!! I love my office hours. Viva my office hours!!). Then I dragged myself to work & forced upon myself a half cup of coffee. Put cream & sugar to make it taste better. Yuck yuck yuck, still tasted like black water.
And it didn't work either!
Never again.
Went home. Tired.
Tried to go to bed early.
But couldn't sleep.
What the heck...?
Quarter life crisis maybe.
Finally fell asleep. After buried myself under pillows.
I beat my alarm this morning. Not because I had enough sleep, but my freakin huge gigantic windows are facing east, and today's weather was "Clear and sunny".
Wore my grey skirt & blue blouse.
Looked at self in the mirror.
Oh great,... it's going to be a bad hair day. Half of my hair flipped to one side while the other flipped to the other.
Tried to tied hair but hair is not long enough.
Gave up.
Whatever.
Ready to go but then remember that my green handbag doesn't match my blue blouse.
*#!@#@$%#@*
Changed handbag.
Run to work.
Work work work work work work, lunch, work work work work.
Went home.
Passed by my mirror. Looked at hair.
Still bad. Feel like shaving my head bald.
Grabbed a magazine. It's last week's TIME magazine.
The headline was New Orleans.
Suddenly, my problems seemed so tiny & trivial and I felt so sad.
Gosh, what an emotional roller coaster. I think I have manic depression disorder.
Or...
hm,...
Maybe just PMS.

Sunday, September 18, 2005

My Big Surreal Mexican Wedding

First of all: relax, relax,... I'm just kidding, it's not my wedding. Besides, we're Asian.
I've been debating with myself about how I want to blog my experience yesterday and I came up with at least 6 different kinds of angles and it can take me a whole week to really portrait it, and I have a life.
So, after eating 3 grapes, I have made up my mind and decided to just do the quickest one possible.
My boyfriend told me that he intended to wear a tejana and corbata to blend in with the crowd. I, on the contrary, think that it is not a good idea. I'm not sure if he's joking or not. If he was, then it's funny, but if he's not, then we have a problem.
Anyway,...
When we arrived, the groom was missing, word is that he's out buying some more ice for the drinks. About half an hour later, we saw him with a doly hauling, yes, ice.
For me it was a very weird sight, but, hey, somebody's got to get the ice. And the groom was available.
I guess...
Also, this is the first time I ever see a bride cleaning up dirty plates & busy arranging the food.
The sight was just new for me, and I don't know what to say.
Jumping to the dancing part, I watched really closely as they dance. Super fast tempo they had with full blown la banda (band) and it seemed like the groom was dilligently trying to stomp on the bride's feet, but then she skillfully jump to the side (or the back or, whereever). Then all of a sudden, I thought, heeeyyy... wait a minute, that is how my boyfriend do his silly dance.
And at that very moment, (swear to God) my boyfriend leaned towards me & said "Now you know where I picked up those dance moves."
Sigh,...
Oy...

Friday, September 16, 2005

"Celine Dion critized President Bush for his slow response to Hurricane Katrina. Celine said, 'I could have driven everyone out of the city in two songs'"
-Conan O'Brien

Sunday, September 11, 2005

I Have Wiiings!!!


I should have bought this wings I found at a clothing store. It's a bit small but it'll do.
Wonder what my coworkers & boss say if I wear this on Halloween.
Just kidding. I still want to be employed.
I wonder if I can find myself a halo to go with it too.
I already have the devil horn & tail that I wore in the past years. Which by the way fit me just great.
Maybe it's time for a joke & wear the wings & halo.
Yeah... being an angel might be the way to go this Halloween.
I'll think about it, though... my boyfriend might have a problem walking by my side on that day. (Let alone walking by my side the entire day, he had problem taking this picture. But being a good boyfriend that he is, he did anyway. Hahaha... )

Sunday, September 04, 2005

Bird Dropping

A bird pooped on me!
There gotta be something good coming my way after all the hassle cleaning up while my obsessive-compulsive mind kept on screaming:
"Arrrgghhh...."
"Arrrgghhh........"
"ARRRGGHH......"

Saturday, September 03, 2005

Who? Handsome? Where?

I called my mom a couple of days ago, as we're chatting about stuff she suddenly said to me:
Mom: "hey, do you remember Aunt Yvonne?
Me: "Who?"
Mom: "Aunt Yvonne, Aunty Lynn's cousin"
Me: "Hm,... Mom, Aunty Lynn, I know, but I ain't know nothing about Aunt Yvonne"
Mom: "Tsk, you know her, she's the chatty aunt from your cousin Jenny's wedding, she has two sons, the second one is as old as you, just a few months older"
Me: "Two sons? Hm,... "
At this point, some very vague flashbacks about Jenny's wedding all came rushing back to me. Fiiuffh.. that's a quite labor-demanding wedding that one. Just cause her future in-laws very strickly stuck on the old tradition with all the super jaded ceremonies which inquired presence of family members, a lot. Multiple times. Which made me -as a participant- had to buy multiple outfits too.
Anyway, I remembered a chatty, skinny, cheery aunt. That's gotta be the one. And the two sons... eh... maybe I know them.
Me: "Do I know the sons?"
Mom: "Don't you remember? Aunt Yvonne has two sons, the eldest one is less attractive, a bit shorter than the second one. The second one is quite handsome & tall too. The second one had a huge crushed on you. Remember?"
What?
Me: "What?"
Mom: "He kept on asking about you during all those ceremonies we had."
He did?
Me: "He did?"
Me: "How come it seems like I'm the only one who doesn't know this?"
Mom: "Well, maybe you just forgot about this, I think you did know, he was asking about you to all of your cousins."
Me:"Then, if he's handsome, how come I don't like him back? Are you sure it's the handsome one? Not the other one?"
Mom: " I think you're about to go to Chicago for school, Dear, so I guess you were just not interested in being involved with any guy. Yes yes, the second one, same birth year as yours"
Oh yeaa.... that guy. Yea yea... I remember a big guy in a tux.
I think he looked quite nice too. But I don't remember quite much about him.
This is so disturbing. My brain cells.
Me: "Uhm yeah, okay, so whazzup with aunt Yvonne?"
Mom: "Her son is getting married next week and our family is invited"
Me: "Huh? Which one?"
Mom: "The second one, the one who had a huge crush on you"
Me: "See, Mom, are you sure that it's the second one that had a crushed on me? Maybe it's the other one."
Mom: "No, I'm sure, Dear, I asked Aunty Lynn when she called me the other day: which son? Is it the one that had a huge crush on ******** (fill my real name here)? Aunty Lynn said yes, that's the one"
Oh, For Zeus sake, everybody, like, E.V.E.R.Y.B.O.D.Y knew?
Ugh... this conversation disturbs me on many levels:
a. I don't like the idea of everybody knowing something about me that I don't. Especially, this kind of thing. My personal bubble is huge, y' know.
b. My mom has better memory than me.
c. My mom is almost 60. And still she has better memory than me ("yes yes, same birth year as you") I mean... w.o.o.o.w!
c. Just realized that I'm old. Jenny's wedding was four freaking years ago. Makes me even more nervous about my next birthday.
d. That supposedly handsome guy... who is he? What's going on here?
Though on the lighter note, I'm happy for the supposedly handsome guy. Wedding is a big thing. I hope he provides unlimited supply of grilled lamb, my dad loves it and he does eat a lot.

Tuesday, August 30, 2005

A Doofus Hunk - Oximoron? Who cares....


Watched Wimbledon last week. I didn't think that I'd like it but apparently I enjoyed it. Though Ebert & Roeper only gave it 1 thumb up, but to be noted that the thumb down from Roeper is a 'reluctant thumb down'. So, it was almost a two thumbs up.
I know that some chick-flicks really tick me off, but this one I like. I'm not going to review it, though, because I'm lazy. I'm just gonna say Kirsten Dunst made what looks like a very delicious smoothie when she's furious. (You have to see it to know what I mean). Hehe... (wicked laugh).
I also don't like pale guys, and Paul Bettany is pallleee (as casper) & blond. So blond that you almost can't see his eyebrows. Look,... look at the picture. Almost no eyebrows.
But the story-line made him fall into category 'cool guy', an almost-hunk even. Maybe I'm weird, I like down to earth guy and I don't like bad-ass guys. They're a waste of time. And I kinda like dufus guys too. And that's why I'm falling for the character, though the pale actor playing it would definitely fall out of my category of a hunk.
I even ignored the fact that many of the scenes involving the character being all sweaty, which in my obsessive-compulsive little twisted mind is actually categorized as: 'GROSSSSS!!!'. (Again, see the picture, look at his arm).
So, rent it! Or buy the pirated one, or.., borrow.. whatever. And tell me if I'm right. Dufus guys are the best bet.

Sunday, August 28, 2005

New Layout! Hooraayy!

The layout is new!
Hoorraaayy!
Now, that i have completely wasted my time on this when I can do laundry, do some work-related stuff and a thousand other things, I thought I might waste it some more by taking a nap.
Ah.. what a nice Sunday.

Oh btw, I went to a park yesterday & took some pictures with my boyfriend.
Who knew that I am an outdoor gal, huh?



Certainly not me.

tumorBut it was very enjoyable & I found a tree with humongous tumor, I just have to share it with you all.
There was also a spot full of flowers, and bees!
How many legs does a bee have? I didn't count, but they looked scary. I was eating cotton candy and I swear on Coki's ashes (Coki is my belated dog), one obnoxious bee just kept on chasing me & I literally had to run around avoiding it. So not cool.
Damn bee!
Anyway, more later, gotta get that nap.

Saturday, August 27, 2005

I booed Jimi

Today I boo-ed Jimi Hendrix.
My boyfriend put him on & I got headache just listening to it.
So I booed him.
Guess he's just not my cup of tea.

P.S. I made up my mind. I'm gonna take my pictures away from the blog. So say your goodbyes in a couple of day, or maybe in a couple of hours if I'm not lazy, It's gone. Phouff... just like dust.

Thursday, August 25, 2005

Shortest Personality Test

Whoooa,...
No kidding, it really IS the shortest test I have to take.
And if judging others with a harsh eye means being bitchy, then YES! This test is pretty damn accurate too.

BTW, have you ever had 3 meetings in a day? I guess for today 3rd one is the charm, eh?



You are pure, moral, and adaptable.
You tend to blend into your surroundings.
Shy on the outside, you're outspoken to your friends.

You believe that you live a virtuous life...
And you tend to judge others with a harsh eye.
As a result, people tend to crave your approval.

Saturday, August 20, 2005

Life Sans Supervisor

After my supervisor was let go1 I found my eight hours per day seems to fly by like a snap.
Is that a good thing?
Is that a bad thing?
I don't know. I guess that's a good thing.
But I know this: I sleep well at night. Not because I've achieved everything that I think I should achieve (which is total world domination, obviously). But because I'm tired. And I know this too: That I can manage being a trainee and trainer, have meetings, log documentations, do some research for my boss, have lunch, check on how the new person's doing, do reports, all on top of my usual job routine, then go home, clean my apartment up, call my mom to the other side of the world for an hour and a half and still able to be excited to talk about stuff, reply some emails, pay bills, while cooking oxtail soup and do some self studing at night before I helplessly fall to sleep.
Wait a minute.
For sobbing out loud,... I think I need to workout too. It's been ages since I workout.
Now, would 1 AM sounds like a good time?
Let me write it down on a post-it or something.
Oh, forget it.


1 --Carter Duryea: I'm gonna have to let some people go.
Dan Foreman: Why do you say let them go? They don't WANT to go. Why don't you just say fire them?
Carter Duryea: Because it sounds better.
Dan Foreman: Not to the person getting fired it doesn't.

--In Good Company--

Sunday, August 14, 2005

Haircut

I found a nice sensible person who can sensibly cut my hair.
*Happy, happy, joy, joy*
I'm very picky about who cut my hair and how it should be cut.
My boyfriend said I'm obsessed.
I said: Hey, I just know precisely what I want.
And yesterday. I cut it about 2 inches shorter. I told her what I wanted, and that's a lot (please-dont -use-razor-to-do-the-layering-of-my-hair,... inhale.... I-like-it-this-long-and-also-dont-touch-my-bangs, inhale... my-hair-is-wavy-so-please-dont-start-the-layer-to-short, heeeep,... orI'll-look-like-a-giant-mushroom, inhale... i-like-this-picture-but-I-notice-that-this-has-got-to-be-done-by-razor,... inhale,... doyouthinkyoucanstickwithsctissorinstead?)
But she passed the test.
Wheeww,... I hate my long hair (the term long for me is just a little bit below my shoulder).
*Happy, happy, joy, joy*
Gee,...
hm,... come to think of it,
I am kinda obssesed.

Tuesday, August 09, 2005

Bunny Girls

I saw a reality show a few days ago about Playboy girls. I think it is called girls next door (or something like that). I think y'all know what it's all about huh? And thinking about girl next door. It's very unlikely that people can relate with the term girls next door and find the girlfriends of Hugh Hefner walking around. Take example: Me. My girl next door is a 80-something year old girl.
You see, I’m a bitch when I want to. Like the bumper sticker that my roommate gave me “I can go from 0 to bitch in 2.5 seconds”. Yep that’s me.
But I always try not to be critical about other people’s lives even if I would rather be caught dead than living their way of life, per se.
And there I was, bored and sleepy on my couch. And what else can a girl do but wash dishes OR be a couch potato?
I, of course, choose the later one. Dishes will just have to wait.
This show was, hm,… interesting. In the midst of it, I found myself feeling (in my tiny apartment, no chef, no maid, no filthy rich boyfriend, no mansion, no limo, no red carpet premieres) damn lucky for not living those girls lives.
No thanks.
Sharing one wrinkly old guy who wears a silk robe everywhere he goes (and one of the girls even share her bed with him,…. Everybody, together say it with me: Eeewwwwww!!!!), sharing mansion with other girls, calling themselves the girlfriends of Hugh Hefner.
Hohohoho…
I’m sorry girls. No, there’s no sympathy when you shed your tears because you have not made it to Playboy centerfold. Seriously. No kidding.
And I just laughed out loud when one them said that she knows that people call them bimbos and gold-diggers, but… they are not. They are not Hugh girlfriends for the money.
Honey, you can be stupid, bimbo, gold-digger and whatever it is that you want to be. I would have had more respect to you if you said you were.
At least I will respect your honesty.
It is funny how I react to that show, thinking that I'm not a feminist nor that I claim to be, but having this urge inside to yell at the TV: "That is a flat-out lie! You are a bimbo! At least admit it with pride. Do something with your life. FYI, there's a world out there outside the mansion!"
Sigh...
I guess I better of sticking with the West Wing and C.J. Craig.
That show is just not for me.

Sunday, August 07, 2005

Therapeutic Chatting

This is late. And I'm tired. I should've gone to sleep but I just don't feel like getting ready to bed just yet.
Boyfriend has gone back to his kingdom with his chariot & called me about an hour ago to let me know that he's almost home. I bet he's dozed off by now.
I chatted with almost a half dozen of people today. All on almost different time slots. They all brought different news. One friend told me that downtown is still fun. Yup, I figure it still is.
Others told me that a famous singer back home apparently has six wives, which is completely gross (I’m thinking of putting all bold capital letters on the word gross, but I think people will get it how gross it is anyway). And a bunch of other insider stories about stupid guys (that's for another post).
I talked to my dad, who's about to buy me a yellow cell-phone casing & ship it to me. I told him: Dad! No! No yellow or Orange. In whatever stuff you’re going to buy me. Please...
Wheewww... so glad he called me before purchasing.
Another friend, my roommate, is going back to school and was bitching out about student life... ah... the stinking old days. Good luck, Roomie!
Though she's no longer is my roommate, I like to always refer her as one. I don't think there will be chance for me to have another roommate. So she'll be the only one, ever, beside my family that ever sees how freaky I look like after waking up in the morning. And she might the only one to appreciate how fast I transformed in the morning & ran out to work.
Another friend has women issue. I basically told him, he'll always have that issue. There's no way out. So, deal with it.
That's a lot of chatting for a day.
In a situation where half of your heart belongs to the other half of the world, it’s a thrill to basically touch base with the people you care.
It's nice to know that the world is evolving around you. But some things remain the same, like your best friends / family. You walk in parallel lines, but you know you walk together.

Wednesday, August 03, 2005

Two Thumbs Way Up

Today, while looking for a report, I found an evaluation about me in my supervisor's computer.
Oh, BTW, stepping back the story a little bit, he's gone. My supervisor is 'no longer with the company'. I wish I could spill a bit of the juicy gossip, but for my own career's sake, let's not talk too much about work in a blog which has clear pictures of yourself smiling to the camera.
So, now it's just me, reporting directly to the big boss. more work & reports to do. But I'm handling it.
Anyway, I found an old evaluation about me. And it was the best evaluation ever. Like, if you notice Ebert & Roeper, the movie critics, going two thumbs down or two thumbs up. My evaluation is two thumbs WAAAY up.
And that eval made me sat there on his desk, stunned at his generousity, and wondered if I owe him that much of thanks and how I should re-pay him.

Sunday, July 31, 2005

Saddest Movie Yet So far

Last night I saw House of The Flying Daggers.
*Finally*
I've been curious about that movie and been wanting to see it, especially after Hero.
I dig Hero, though many people don't. I guess the thing is with these kind of movies, people are just not used to: 1. Reading subtitle while watching a movie and 2. They are not used to a very sad, depressing ending. If you love the endings of all Adam Sandler's movies (a.k.a. Hollywood ending), then these kind of movies are really going to make you leave the theater feeling like you need prozac.
I told my boyfriend: Gee, this is sadder than Romeo & Juliet. Shakespeare is nothing compared to this. Romeo & Juliet looks like comedy.
If Shakespeare knew about this story, he would've risen back to life & re-written some of his chapters. Maybe add another guy or something. You know... to twist things up.
I love this movie though.
There was such beautiful sadness in it. And though I don't admit it, my boyfriend said that I'm somewhat melancholic.
...
...
hah! Yea rite.
There was *AGAIN* some fighting scenes up on the bamboo trees, just like Crouching Tiger & Hidden Dragon. Everybody was swinging & jumping from tree to tree. They chopped off the bamboos to use as the weapon, it was pretty cool actually.
At this point, I remember my boyfriend said "Poor Pandas, if they chop all the bamboos, what would the pandas eat then? They only eat bamboos, you know?"
I looked at him.
Speechless.
I guess his discovery channel instinct suddenly surfaced.

Well anyway, if you are ready to get artfully depressed, go ahead and rent it.
I do think it'll be worthwhile.

Favorite line from the movie: "I sacrificed three years for you. How could you love him after three days? "

Thursday, July 28, 2005

Eight Hours That Feels Like a Week

You know when you feel like the day is sooo long & you wonder when it's going to be over.
And it's not.
And it keeps going and going.
Well, that my day at work today.
I don't like office politics and I always try my best to wiggle my way out of it.
I don't want to get involved.
Just let me do my job and go home.
Do you know that scene in a cartoon where everybody is in this big fist fight, that all you see is one big thick cloud?
Imagine me trying to crawl my way out of there & when I'm almost completely out, a hand grabs me and yanks me back in.
Yup.
That's my day today.
Thank God it's Friday tomorrow.
And I'm seriously considering taking out my pics from the blog, so maybe I can bitch more about this topic.
Yeah...
Maybe...
But, who would want to talk about work all the time, right?
Nah... I'll just find other things to talk about here. Something non-work related.
Like my apartment building which apparently is full of grandmas.
Uhm,... I'll talk about that in my next posting.
Right now I just need some sleep.